National Awards for Innovative use of ICT in Education

The Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) (launched in 2004 by Govt. of India) in schools have been revised and a new component on National Award for Teachers for use of ICT in education has been introduced.

In all 87 ICT awards are instituted by Govt. of India for different states/UTs and Autonomous Bodies/ organizations under MHRD. A break-up of state-wise allocation of awards is given in the guidelines. The award proposes to felicitate those teachers who have enhanced student learning by effectively and innovatively integrating technology supported learning into the school curriculum and subject teaching, and thereby promoted enquiry-based cooperative-collaborative learning using ICT amongst students. Teachers of primary, upper primary, secondary, higher secondary schools from the following organizations are eligible to be nominated under the scheme:

i.  State Government schools/schools run by local bodies and Government Aided Schools (including the schools affiliated to State Boards of Education)

ii. Central Government schools i.e. Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs), Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs), Central Tibetan Schools (CTSA), Schools run by Ministry of Defence (MOD) i.e. Sainik Schools etc. and schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES)

iii. Schools affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) other than those at (i) and (ii) above.

iv. Schools affiliated to Council for Indian Schools Certificate Examinations (CISCE)

National ICT Awards for School Teachers-2017